Why I am context-driven – Ray Oei …. I think…..

This is my blog in the series “Why am I Context-driven”. In this series every member of DEWT writes a personal story on why he or she is context-driven.

That is the line the contibutions have started in this series. My first thought was to change that in: “Am I Context-driven?”. Because there are a lot of questions that need to be answered to explain that…
What /is/ Context-driven?
What does it mean to /be/ Context-driven?
What does it mean to be /part of/ the Context-driven community?
What means /the/ in the sentence ‘the Context-driven community’?
What is a community?
What is context?
Is there a reason to write context with a capital?
What is…?

And I could go on for a while.

When I started testing, by accident in a way, there were a lot of questions running through my mind. At my first serious testing challenge it could have looked a bit like this:

How /should/ I be doing /that???
– who decides what is good?
– who’s opinion should I take into account?
– who has the answers?
– what does my manager want from me?
– in what way can I be wrong?
– how am I going to prevent to be wrong?
– what is wrong about being wrong?
– where can I learn to do it right?
– why would I supply that?
– why wouldn’t I supply that?
– what is the problem (here)?
– why would I bother?
– why would anyone bother?
– what is right anyway?
– what is it what I want to say?
– what is it what I mean?
– what is it what I want?
– I don’t want to fail…..
– …….
– what /is/ failing anyway?
– who would care?
– …
– wait, …. do I see a pattern here??????

I have written before what led me to this point: here. And why I started the discussion what led to DEWT (here). So I am not going to re-itereate that.
But that still doesn’t answer any of those questions. Some of the critics (here and here both in Dutch) find most of what we (“what is /we/?” “Who are /we/?”) vague or obvious or not interesting. That is ok. Despite of what some of us (“who is /us/?”) say or seem to imply: there is no ‘best practice’ of being ‘context-driven’. Some of the discussions have culminated in a fight over ‘wrong’ and ‘right’. In essence – I think – it is about ‘following the rules’ versus ‘investigate and see what can be learned’. The latter is something that appeals to me the most, being from a scientific background. So many times questions like: “is it useful?” “What information does that provide?” “To what purpose should I be doing this?” have gone through my mind at some time.

So why write this in the first place? One of the important foundations for this community is to share. Share knowledge. Share experiences. Share thoughts. And discuss them. Learn from them. Change your ideas when information compels you to. Be critical. Accepts that others might be (very) critical. Try to learn from that too. About the craft. About yourself. About the world. And use that in your work.

This community helps me to do that. With people who expect critical thinking. Who don’t provide the “right” answer. Who provoke (which I wouldn’t do that easily). Who get me thinking. Do I agree with all of what is said? Does that really matter? To whom? And sometimes I am doubting whether I am ‘context-driven’. But do I have to be?

I can see why some people have problems with ‘us’. And I think that is something we should learn from. We can be overbearing at times. Know it all’s. Seem to be a closed group. And sometimes it is difficult to separate the message from the person. I should not speak for others. I myself don’t really like being too direct. Or at the front of the stage. It’s uncomfortable, to me. So am I still context-driven then? Are people hesitant to join the community because it feels too much that you can only belong if you are like ‘that’? (“What is /that/ exactly?”). We also need to be self critical. We can (and should!) learn and sharpen our ideas when we are confronted with other opinions. Are we vague? We don’t intend to (no really: we don’t!!) but we are perceived that way sometimes. So we should work on that. Well… no, I should work on that.

I try to learn. I share what I have learned by teaching others for free (here and here). I coach testers for free (here). They learn from me, I hope. And I learn from them. What I do right ánd what I do not so right.
So what does it mean to be context-driven? Can you only be context-driven when you call yourself context-driven? I know a few very good testers who explicitly do not consider themselves to be ‘context-driven’. Are those people less as testers? I don’t think so! /I/ consider them to be a part of the ‘context-driven’ philosophy. They are critical thinkers to start with…

So it might be /that/ that appeals to me the most: ask questions. Investigate. Discuss. Try to find answers with the information you have. Re-investigate. Lean. Learn. Learn…

This entry was posted in Context-driven testing, Why am I context-driven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I am context-driven – Ray Oei …. I think…..

  1. Hendrik says:

    What i mis within context driven. is the notion, that you don’t know what you don’t know and knowing it all will never be achieved. There just comes a moment to stop questioning everything and just start and try something and see what the results are and use that as new input. Just experiment. Testing never ends it just stops. But it will STOP and not all questions will be anwsered and that is not a bad thing.

    and p.s. i think context driven people use to many words 😉

Leave a Reply

